Moto-e, the most feature loaded android phone that least amount of money can buy

IMG_1172

 

IMG_1177

Moto E, the phone that even Micromax wished it had in its portfolio of products. With Micromax making efforts to enter the middle-level and premium segments of Android phone market the recent launches by Motorola must surely have ruffled their feathers. Because the Motorola has a clear winner in each of the 3 segments they have launched a phone in. But this review is for the Moto E phone.

First the pros:

1. Price. I had to purchase this phone for my android development purposes. Otherwise, I am an iPhone user. Just because I am an iPhone user doesn’t mean that I am not price conscious. I had to purchase an iPhone 5, again, for my development purposes 🙂 But Apple doesn’t offer much choice price-wise to choose wisely. But, thanks to the mature market for Android devices there is a wide price range in which you can select an android device from. If it were before the entry of Motorola phones and I had to purchase an Android phone for development I’d have gone with a Micromax phone because they are known to offer decent phones in the 5000 to 10000 rupee segment. But I’d had to live up with poor camera, poor screen, poor memory, poor battery and poor speakers. But in the same price that I’d pay for a lowly Micromax I am getting a superior deal. We’ll see how.

2. Memory of 1 GB. Any phone offering 1GB of RAM for the price of 7000 is unheard of before Motorola came along and showed it to be possible. RAM is one of the most important parameters which dictate the performance of a phone, along with the processor, of course. Motorola, with this phone, has shown that one needn’t cut corners when you are offering a phone in the lesser price segment.

3. Display size of 4.3 inch. Again, this is a rule breaker. You might see Micromax offering big phones for lesser but they are lowly in every other respect. This is an qHD screen with a resolution of 960×450 pixels. With a Corning Glass 3 covering, no less. No wonder then in my usage of this phone for one month I haven’t found a single scratch on the screen though I have not put any protective screen. The display is pretty nice. Videos on youtube seem to show without any distinguishable pixel. The contents of the screen are clearly seen even outdoors.

4. Battery life. Sometimes I go two days without charging it and it is lying in my back pack silently sipping battery to stay alive. In standby mode it can stay for more than two days without charging. This is quite an achievement considering that I don’t switch off the WiFi when I keep it like so.

5. Speaker sound. One great thing about this phone is FM Radio. Just plug in an ear phone and put on the FM radio and put it on the speaker. And there you go. You are all set for music in your office or your home. The speakers produce a distortion free sound which is a music to ears 🙂 You can also watch videos on speaker.

6. Ear phones. Moto E comes with a basic set of ear phones with a mic on it with a sole button. With the button you can stop or start the music that is playing or you can pick up the phone and end the conversation. The best thing about this ear phone is that it is compatible with an iPhone too 🙂 So, if you lose your iPhone ear phones you can make do with these. In the same vein I can use it on my Macbook Pro to carry on skype conversations! For me, the advantage is that I keep one ear phone at home and one at office and use them on both devices! Don’t expect great sound with the ear phones, though.

7. GPS. At this price point many vendors skip this feature. With this device you can know your exact location in the various map applications and use it navigate through unknown territories. There are huge number of applications which are built on location services. And you have a suitable device in this phone to work with them.

8. WiFi hotspot. Just don’t want to miss some very simple but extremely useful features. Is there any feature missing? At this price point you even get to have a mobile with which you can share its internet with others with Wifi hotspot feature. Isn’t it great? 3G – I have to club this in this point. 3G, should become the minimum connectivity available on all phones, these days with all service providers offering it. And this phone doesn’t disappoint you again.

9. Dual SIM. So, you are a frequent traveller between two cities. And you have two SIMs localized to those two cities, to save phone costs. Now, you no longer have to tear apart the phone as soon as you reach the other city to replace the SIM with the SIM of that city. Isn’t it great!?

Though I want to go on and on about all features I must put a full stop here and go over to the cons now.

1. Bulky. Motorola has not made any effort to reduce the bulk of the phone. Though they have made the SIM slots to be micro SIM ones the reduced SIM sizes doesn’t translate to thinner phone. It meant that I had to cut my full size SIM cards to put it in before I could use this phone. The phone has a convex(bulgy) shape at the back. It works for many people but I’d rather have it flat.

2. Internal memory. The phone comes with an inbuilt internal memory of 4GB. The brand new phone had only 2GB of memory available for apps, pictures and other stuff. Well, for this price one can’t ask for the world but this definitely pinches. At least, they didn’t compromise with the RAM memory! It doesn’t mean that this phone is hopeless. You still can increase the memory by adding a microSD card upto 32GB.

3. Battery. Motorola has constructed the phone in such a way that one can take the back cover off to insert SIM cards and microSD card but they can’t remove the battery. Still, I am sure there must be many videos on youtube to replace the battery. But I am left wondering why they’d go for such a design.

At this price point it would seem like I am indulging in nitpicking if I included any more cons. Overall, you must’ve got a very good idea of where I place this phone. It is a 9/10 phone for me. Go ahead and just buy it if this is all you are looking for.

 

Leave a Reply

