The time when truth delivered me from embarrassment

Thus go the famous lyrics of the song Turn Turn Turn by The Byrds:

To everything, turn, turn, turn.
There is a season, turn, turn, turn.
And a time to every purpose under heaven.
A time to be born, a time to die.
A time to plant, a time to reap.
A time to kill, a time to heal.
A time to laugh, a time to weep.

In the same vein, there is a time to lie and a time to tell the truth. And I’ll tell you this: telling truth delivers you from embarrassment more than telling a lie.

It was a whirlwind romance we had. We met on a matrimonial website. Me in Hyderabad and she from Ahmedabad. And we quickly made it for a face-to-face meeting with each other in Mumbai. We spent an evening together just chatting away about all things under the the sky. Didn’t know how time flew by. And, we both went back to our cities pretty much fascinated by the other.

Two months later we were getting engaged in Ahmedabad. And our parents had let us catch a movie on our own. And here we were in this movie hall watching Stuart Little. And my mind was just not in the movie. I was sitting beside this beautiful girl in the movie hall snuggled with her. And one would think that I was not into the movie because such a fascinating distraction was sitting beside me. Actually, it was something else that was troubling my mind. I had told her everything about me – what I do, how much I earn, my family and all stuff. But I hadn’t told her one important thing that I had a Visa to work in the USA and was about to fly out the next month!

Why hadn’t I told this to her? I knew she didn’t like to quit her job and go abroad. I was in two minds to go abroad myself too. But by the time of engagement, I had made up my mind to explore my job opportunities abroad and hadn’t picked up the courage to tell her about it. It was during the movie that I told her all about it. It came to her as a shock, but she handled it well and by the end of the movie and much to my relief she came around to the idea of starting our new life in a new place. I guess, she weighed in the fact that this is a small price to pay to spend her life with a charming man like me. 😉

After that movie it was like a load was off my chest. I slept well that night. And it was with a heavy but relieved heart that I took my flight to New Jersey. We had the best time talking to each other on phone during the six month long distance courtship we had.

Leave a Reply

