Time to wipe the cobwebs from our marriage

It has been a little over 14 years since our marriage. And we are going strong. Both of us know everything about each other. She knows my vices and I know hers. She knows my strengths and I hers. And we think we can go on like this till the end of our lives. But we have our quarrels too. And those are the times when things like these are said “You were a different person when we were newly married”, “You were not so critical of me then”, “Now, I don’t seem like the one and only princess in your eyes”.

Come on folks, I don’t think any long-term relationship is devoid of these unhappy moments. When it seems like saying hurtful things to your partner is the way to resolve your fights. Then, there are those times when the fight is resolved that you think that your relationship needs careful reflection on our parts. It is during these times when we need to think of ways to recharge our relationship to the levels we were at just after marriage. And, I am in one of those moods today. Hey, it is going to be 14th February pretty soon. What better time than this to rekindle the flame between us.

On this Valentine’s Day, I am thinking of proposing to her in a very wild way which will take me to a space which is totally out of my skin. What else will kick-start our flame back to the original levels? First I must start with the things she likes:

  1. Like all women she too has a weakness for flowers. Since this is our 15th year of marriage, I am planning on giving her 14 bouquets of flowers for each year of marriage! 🙂
  2. She loves food. Especially, sea-food 🙂 And what’s more? Our favourite restaurant in the town is having a seafood festival going on. Yay!
  3. She loves to watch mostly Hindi movies. And she’s saying that she wants to watch “Roy”. And what perfect timing for that too!

What else? Feb 14th is a Saturday. So, the kids too will be at home!

So the plan is like this: In the morning I have arranged for a florist to deliver one bouquet of flower every half an hour. What is the fun in delivering all the bouquets at once? 🙂 And where is the boldness in the idea? Then by 12:30pm when we have worked an appetite after all the rolling on the floor laughing bouts, we will be moving our party to our favourite restaurant. I have already arranged for a cake to be delivered there with the message “I still love you madly”. I have purchased a gold ring with which I plan to propose to her once again in front of all the people who are dining there. This is something which is totally out of my skin, and this is the only part of the plan I am shuddering about. 🙂 Then for 3pm I will book a show for “Roy”. We will be back home by 7pm when I open our favourite wine bottle, and we’ll spend the evening watching the recordings of our favourite TV series which we usually record and keep for the weekends.

So, all in all, if all goes according to my plans it will be a day that my babe will not forget in a long time. Here, I’d like to thank Close Up for giving me this radical idea of rekindling our love by proposing to my one and only crush! 🙂

Leave a Reply

